top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekmbreakstig

10/25/2021 “Sharing Family Traditions” - By Kaylee McGrath

Updated: May 2, 2022

As we approach the fall and winter holiday’s, I wanted to share and discuss with my readers some family traditions that I’ve grown up with. Maybe some of you have the same traditions that you do every season with your families. Family traditions are important to help keep family and extended families close. Family traditions will pass on from generation to generation and is good for the fulfilment of life and happiness.


Family Traditions Can Be Anything From:

· How your family’s heritage or religious background celebrates various holidays

· It can also be, inviting family and friends over to watch sporting events, seasonal outings, or celebrations of graduations, birthdays, or retiring

Winter Holiday’s:

· In my family, our tradition for celebrating Christmas starts on Christmas Eve

· Christmas Day it is a smaller gathering and my mom does a proper English Tea

· My family puts up our Christmas tree together on the weekend of Thanksgiving

· My mom cooks a big dinner and bakes cookies for this celebration

· We decorate the outside of our house the day after our tree is completed

Autumn:

· We go pumpkin picking every year and I decorate the pumpkins with my dad

· My mom shops for colorful Mums and plants them in the front of our house

· Hockey is a big deal in our house because my dad is a huge New York Rangers fan, whether they win or lose. The playoffs and the Stanley Cup are never missed and we watch the games together with lots of food and snacks

End of the Summer Family Reunion:

· Beginning at the end of August through Labor Day Weekend my father’s side of the family has a family reunion and rents a house on the beach in Lavallette

· All of my aunts, uncles, cousins, and children attend

· I miss this tradition because of COVID

Springtime:

· As a family we visit various flower gardens every year in the late spring

· My mother normally hosts an annual spring party mid to late June and cooks a variety of foods. Mom always has a large dessert table filled with home baked treats from members of our extended family

Anytime - All Year:

· Sundays are normally special with Italian food, roasted chicken, or some kind of a beef roast. Sometimes my mom wants a break and we go out for a Sunday dinner

· We go out to dinner once during the week or we order take out. This is the time when my parents and I catch up on things and we enjoy quality time with each other


Please feel free to share some of your family traditions by leaving a comment.



Source of Information: Personal Experiences


Until Next Time, Stay Safe and Well!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

04/15/2024 “Where Do I Fit In” By Kaylee McGrath

Opening Statement: This week I decided to focus on an article about people like me who have various learning and intellectual disabilities, processing disorders, Dyscalculia, Dyslexia, and other types

04/8/2024 “STI Awareness Month” By Kaylee McGrath

Opening Statement: STI Awareness Month is a special interest day and with the main goal to inform and educate people on sexually transmitted infections (S.T.I.’s). Although S.T.I.s are common medical

bottom of page